Witches, Pagans, Warlocks, whatever the title who inspires you?

Fire stoked, cauldron bubbling, come on over, get comfy, mug of cider?    Comfy, in a few days it will be October and you know what that means.  Pumpkins, candy, decorations, death being celebrated and honored.  Now usually I like to hold off on decorating until the second week of October, for some reason my little warlock has wanted to decorate since before Mabon, to the point of invading my sleep asking “when we can decorate?”  I relented the other day and told him to have at it.   While we were doing said decorating he noticed my styrofoam tombstone.  Now we have put this thing out every year since I made it. That was oh some sixteen plus years ago.  This day it really caught his attention, he began reading the names listed on it and asking me who they were.   So I explained that they were the names of the people who were murdered in Salem back in 1692.

“Oh, so they were all witches?” he asked.

“Sadly no,” I told him, “most of them were just simple farmers who were murdered because of fear & greed.”  He didn’t quite get it, so I continued explaining it could be because someone wanted their property, house, farm, whatever, others were killed because someone didn’t like them, and also some because they stood up and spoke against what was happening.

“You mean  there were people way back then like the wakadoo group that doesn’t like us?”

“Exactly!” I told him.

“So then they didn’t kill real witches did they?  If we didn’t know any of them,why did you paint all their names, when and how they died?”

“Because they inspired me, these people all died doing the right thing, standing up for what they believed in, not bowing to say they were something they weren’t.”

He walked away satisfied with that answer.   It got me to thinking about a blog that Kallan did a few months back, about pagans who inspire us.  I hadn’t read anything further about it.  So after dinner the other night, (fantastic dinner I might add) while she was showing us the prizes she had for a couple giveaways she is planning I brought the subject up, and was surprised at what she had to say.  She only got two, yeah two inspirational pagan/wiccan/you pick a title people.   Anyway it bothered me that she received only two inspirational people.  So me being who I am decided to bring it up again here.   Now when she originally posted the question two people came right to mind for me, and I am going to share them here.   Have you heard of these two people before?  Yes, some of you may even know them, have they published any books?  Are they famous?  No, but that doesn’t mean they aren’t inspirational.

My first inspirational Pagan is Snowy Morrighan, now I’ve known Snowy for a while, we took a Wicca 101 class together, she was at my handfasting, belly danced before my father at our reception, and gave me silly string for a handfasting gift ( which we finished the silly string off last year).  That in itself makes her important to me, but my reasons for her being inspirational go deeper than that.   She moved to Pennsylvania, opened Eye of Nuit Shoppe, makes her own candles, and runs an online store as well (Pagan Stuff Cheap   http://paganstuffcheap.com/index)   Snowy has been through some hard times, and survived, she does not hang her head and cry “poor me”, she takes what the gods hand her and make it work.  Having been a member of a couple of Covens that let her down, she has not given up on them and last I heard was still looking for the right one.  Her friendship is deep, heavens help the person who verbally or physically attacks one of her friends, or people she cares about, she will be on you faster than the hounds from hell.  Chew you up just like a chew toy.   Snowy will bury you in the back yard if you cross anyone she cares about.  Snowy takes her Craft seriously, though the people in the craft can annoy the crap out of her from time to time.  She is against what our Wackadoo friends are doing, and has tried numerous times to get groups organized to do something about them.   She gets frustrated with us but she never gives up.

My other inspiration is Kallan Kennedy, unlike Snowy I have only known Kallan for about a year, but have learned much in that time.   Now for you who have all read her blogs, she keeps us posted on the happenings in the witchy world, gives us a card of the week, mind you (I still think I should rule) tells us what she thinks about books, and shares what she has seen.   Frolics with us on Fridays, and then feeds us Stew on Sundays.   Most of her pieces are soft, friendly, but be warned if you tick her off, like the Wackadoo’s have recently done she will RANT.  Now unlike me, who sees the line you have drawn in the sand and will immediately step over it.  I will gladly chase you down like my favorites hounds, tear you apart and leave you there for others to see as a warning.  Kallan on the other hand, is “like a cat, she plays with her food first.”  Don’t believe me, just read her blogs.  She has posted about our Wackadoo friends for months, putting little pieces in here and there.  Reminding us not to stoop to their level, with the name calling and childish acting.  (I never listen, sorry) Be warned although she may act like a sleepy cat, lifting her head and eyeing you then going back to sleep like you were nothing to worry about, she pays attention.  As was proven in her most recent rant, when the Wackadoo’s went too far, the threats were and still are dangerous, and just like a cat that has had enough of the mouse running in front of her, she pounced.  Kallan not only sliced the group up, logically, but she counted her points off on her nails as she did so, then when she was finished she ate them and deposited what was left in her kitty box.  (I’m not cleaning that either).

That is not the only side to Kallan, she is also the type of person who see’s strangers broke down on the side of the road during one of the hottest days in the summer, goes home gets them a cooler full of ice, water, and snacks, goes back has a chat with them,  offers them her home, for a shower, etc…  She takes strangers in like wolves do abandoned pups.  She nurtures us, watches us grow, and adds us to her pack.  She dared a young warlock, to throw his toy as high as he can to see if it will hit her ceiling, fixes friends dinner, has serious discussions, shares her magic and the magic that is her family and rarely does anything in slow motion.  She is also a mother of five, grandmother of two, and a wonderful friend.

Kallan and Snowy are two different women, with their feet on a similar path, they may not take exactly the route the other takes, but will end up at the same destination regardless.   Being a Witch to these two women is not just about ritual, or the “show” Kallan believes you can actually “teach the witch right out of people”, and I agree.  Both Snowy and Kallan, show what being a witch IS, for me they are the “wise ones” of my community, they teach by doing, be it ritual or life in general.  I have only highlighted some of the facets on these two gems that I am favored to call friends.  They will not back down when our community is attacked.  They make me proud to be able to say “I’m a Witch.”

So now you know who mine are, who are yours?

Hope you enjoyed the cider.

See Ya Round the Cauldron.

Judas

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Stirring the cauldron with Judas
    Oct 04, 2011 @ 20:27:46

    Thank you for reading, hope you continue to enjoy

    Reply

  2. Kelly Anton
    Sep 28, 2011 @ 21:54:19

    I would have to say Scott Cunningham and Laurie Cabot, they both were the first teachers I had when I was trying to find my way. Now between my friends and partner, I rarely am uninspired. 🙂

    Reply

What do you think? We would love to know:

